Insights · November 24th, 2008

Portland – The tenth annual Endeavour Award winner was announced November 21, 2008 at Oregon’s major science fiction convention, OryCon. Brenda Cooper won for her book “The Silver Ship and the Sea,” published by Tor Books.

The other finalists were “The Book of Joby,” by Mark J. Ferrari; “Bright of the Sky,” by Kay Kenyon; “Not Flesh Nor Feathers,” by Cherie Priest; and “Powers,” by Ursula K. LeGuin. Thirty seven books published in 2007 were entered for the Award.

The annual Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers. The five highest scoring books then go to three judges, who are all professional writers or editors.

The judges for the 2008 Award were Ellen Asher, Steven Barnes, and Russell Davis. Steven Barnes presented the Award.

Congratulations to Brenda. Very cool.

Book News
Nikolas Badminton – Chief Futurist

Nikolas Badminton

Nikolas is the Chief Futurist of the Futurist Think Tank. He is world-renowned futurist speaker, a Fellow of The RSA, and has worked with over 300 of the world’s most impactful companies to establish strategic foresight capabilities, identify trends shaping our world, help anticipate unforeseen risks, and design equitable futures for all. In his new book – ‘Facing Our Futures’ – he challenges short-term thinking and provides executives and organizations with the foundations for futures design and the tools to ignite curiosity, create a framework for futures exploration, and shift their mindset from what is to WHAT IF…

Contact Nikolas